In the Presbyterian Church, more trust is placed in a group of people, who together seek to discern the mind of God to lead them towards faithful action, than in a single individual who has all the answers. Therefore, committees are a mainstay of the church. At the local, congregational level this means two main boards: Session, as the highest decision making body, and the Deacons, as the care-taking, pastoral group. Both groups are to be a representation of the congregation as a whole.

The elders and deacons are ordained positions in the Presbyterian Church (USA). That means that we believe each of them been chosen by God and the congregation to be a leader in Christ’s church. The vows they take are the same vows that the pastor takes to become a minister of word and sacrament. Once a person is ordained that ordination is considered a lifelong vocation. The ordained elders and deacons have a responsibility to cultivate their prayer life, to study the Bible, and to seek God in their individual, and congregational life.

Session (Elders):

The Session is the Governing Board of the church. The Session consists of the senior pastor, associate pastors, and elders in active service (the “ruling” elders).

Pete James

Clerk of Session:
Scott Slocum

To view session notes, contact Deb Crumbliss at deb.crumbliss@viennapres.org


Class of 2017-2019

Richard Clarke

Bruce Dickson

Ellen Field

Gina Goodrich

Greg Rahal

Donald Sinclair

Class of 2018-2020

Chuck Allen

Nancy Davidovich

John Draper

Robin Portman

Kathy Underhill

John Wendler III


Class of 2019-2021

Ted Davies

Brian Janysek

Carrie Miller

Martin Spalding

Matthew Thrasher

Beth Webster


Deacons minister to those who are in need, to the sick, to the friendless, and to any who may be in distress, both within and beyond the community of faith.

Shelley Ott

Vice-Moderator: Curtis Houck

Andy Mitchell

Funeral Receptionist:
Mary Campbell

Secretary: Bob Walter

Pastor Liaison:
David Jordan-Haas

Class of 2017-2019

Stephanie Brown

Karen Cain

Mary Campbell

Carla Davies

Tim Dronsfield

Jacquie Garland

Mary Hatzilambrou

Curtis Houck

Julie Knight

David Lotocki

Andy Mitchell

Shelley Ott

Bo Rix

Robert Skaggs

Jim Vincent


Class of 2018-2020

Andy Arnold

Jay DeCarlo

Kate DeLanoy

Melissa French

Martha Garrett

Brian Hricik

Melinda Mayes

Steve Miller

Sherry Smith

Michelle Polchow

Katie Walker

Bob Walter









Class of 2019-2021

Carolyn Carter

Gary Goodrich

Paul Kashchy

John Lyver

Karen Mokate

Evan Prince

Gina Riegelman

Marc Shaw

Mary Ann Singlaub

Cait Thrasher

Patty Yoder